The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   70 K20 troubles (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=852451)

garret hakkleberry 05-09-2024 08:54 PM

70 K20 troubles

Hello guys I'm new to the whole car thing as I'm under 18 and need some advice I have a 1970 k20 I bought 3 years ago and the cab was toast and I was told to just scrap the cab so I did and bought a 70 GMC with a cab that was great for maine to put the cab on the Chevy I havent touched weither truck in a little bit and tried to sell it but everyone wants the Chevy cab and keeps lowballing me so I'm wondering if I should put some more money into and drive it or fix it and sell it just wondering if I'm missing out

jocko 05-09-2024 09:22 PM

Re: 70 K20 troubles

need a little more detail Garrett-
1) have you already swapped the GMC cab on the Chev frame?
2) which truck are you trying to sell?
3) do you have 2 titles and the VINs on the titles still match the VINs on the trucks?

Keep in mind swapping cabs is best done after a chat with DMV. I'd say you're probably too young to commit to owning either truck "forever" so it'd be wise to square away any title issues now - so that you have options to sell down the road.

If the Chev cab is truly toast and unsalvageable -and- you haven't swapped the GMC cab onto the Chev frame yet - I'd keep the GMC intact, fix it up and enjoy or sell in the future, up to you - and sell the remainder of the Chev for parts. Or as a "whole" parts truck WITH a valid title (assuming Chev cab is still on the Chev frame).

If you've already swapped cabs, I'd head to DMV and sort things out.

jerry moss 05-09-2024 09:24 PM