The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   Welcome Area (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Back after 32 years! (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=814515)

JC76 11-16-2020 02:08 PM

Back after 32 years!

2 Attachment(s)
I built this 1976 pickup 35 years ago and sold it to a relative 32 years ago. Now it is back in my possession. It has been in storage for the last 25 years.

Most of the work I did myself. Lowered it with a kit (springs, hangers etc.), dyed the interior, filled in all of holes from trim, made rear bumper and did paint and stripes. This was one of the last cars I did when I restored and painted cars for a living. Haven't done much of that kind of work since.

Photos are how it looked back when it was first built. Still looks about the same. The wheels are a bit rusty. Tires are shot. Before it was stored the 350 small block was rebuilt. It is an automatic with full power and air.

Trying to decide exactly what to do with it as far as updates. For sure it will get bigger wheels. Comments and tips are welcome. Looking forward to working on this old project.

cwcarpenter98 11-16-2020 04:31 PM

Re: Back after 32 years!

Welcome! Since it looks about the same, my suggestion would be to play with the suspension some and make it drive really well

The Rocknrod 11-16-2020 04:39 PM

Brings back memories.

Southcity 11-16-2020 05:47 PM

Congrats on getting your truck back, it appears it was in good care while away. I personally love the current look of your truck and can pretty much guarantee you won't see another on the road, at a show or anywhere. Hat's off to you for doing a great job 35 years ago! I'm not sure how drivable it is in it's current setup but would be great to run it as is for a while.

JC76 11-16-2020 06:00 PM

Quote: