The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Why bear claw latches? (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=402521)

OKGMC4 05-13-2010 06:29 PM

Why bear claw latches?

I have no experience with these but it seems to be a common addition. Keep in mind my truck came with the doors sitting in the bed and I've never seen them latch. Are the stock latches really that bad, or do you have to have the bear claws to use things like electric lock and door poppers? Will someone give a good explanation for this without the "boy you're stupid" that I'm sure I deserve for asking. Also, I have a set of complete 70 Chevelle doors...could I just cut out those lock mechanisms and transplant them for the same effect while saving $100? Thanks in advance!

OrrieG 05-13-2010 07:16 PM

Re: Why bear claw latches?

The original style are notorius for letting the door pop open, especially when the hinge pin gets worn. If you look all that is holding the door closed is a cammed lever behind ramped plate. when everythings gets worn the door can bounce up and down and release. First thing I did in 76 when I got mine was install seat belts and child seat restraint. Never lost a kid but did loose a nice screwdriver and other tools that were laying on the floor when the door flew open going around a corner.

Having said all that I'm not ambitious enough to install the bear claw which completely wraps around the locking lug. I did get all new door latch hardware and rebuilt my hinges so I figure it should be good for the remaining 25 years I have left to drive then it will be one of my great grandkids problem.

mylow53 05-13-2010 08:51 PM