The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   ID this old truck? (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=772709)

davepl 10-06-2018 01:07 PM

ID this old truck?

Found this picture of my grandfather's brothers. They were born around 1912 or so, lived on the family farm their entire lives, never married, died there. But they owned a green truck! Since I'm no expert and they're standing in front of it, hopefully somoene else can ID it from the side of the grill or similar...

Thanks!
Dave
https://bn1304files.storage.live.com...500&height=397

Ol Blue K20 10-06-2018 01:20 PM

Re: ID this old truck?

I'm not seeing a pic

davepl 10-06-2018 01:33 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Weird, I can see it. But it's on OneDrive, I did a Share thing:

Coley 10-06-2018 01:58 PM

Pretty sure that is a early 51-54 GMC advance series...given the grill that is on it and the fact it has vent windows which I think started in '51.

Saskatchewan?....

Coley

geezer#99 10-06-2018 02:09 PM

51 Gotta Mechanic Comin’.

Keith Seymore 10-08-2018 11:09 AM

What are they so mad about?

;)

67ChevyRedneck 10-08-2018 01:28 PM

I don't know all the nuances of those years, but I agree it's definitely a 47-53 GMC.

GOPAPA 10-08-2018 04:43 PM

It has a wing window so it has to be a 51 or newer

special-K 10-08-2018 08:57 PM

It's a '55 first series GMC. Curved one piece windshield and flat bed rails. It would have an open driveshaft with u-joints. First GM truck with those features. They ran a long long time without the need of a mechanic coming.

Coley 10-08-2018 09:08 PM

...good call on the flat bed rails, I forgot about that.