The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   *Retirement Approching Fast* (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=809946)

Zippi 08-01-2020 01:49 PM

*Retirement Approching Fast*

Ok guys and gals. I was going to retire on May 1st but the Pandemic hit and I was furloughed on April 3rd so it was Free money for 9 weeks. Can't find anyone to train for my job so now my retirement date is September 4th. I have my 49 pickup to play around with and I plan on getting back into flying RC planes. I've been doing that for close to 40 years but took a break from it for the past few years. So.....how is retirement boys and girls??? Pro's and Con's.

Ironhorse 08-01-2020 02:26 PM

Re: *Retirement Approching Fast*

Congratulations on the upcoming retirement! Been retired now just over 10 years this past May. Best job I've ever had !! Pay is not as good as when I was a crane operator for Boeing Aircraft Co. but the hours and work schedule is really good. Couple things come to mind when I retired:

1. House was paid for. Kinda rough doing a big house payment on retirement pension and / or Social Security.

2. Cars were paid for. See above, it still applies.

3. Is an actual pension involved here from your company? They are fast becoming a thing of the past with most of today's companies.

4. Medical insurance. I was covered by Boeing retirement medical insurance until I reached 65. (I retired at 60 with 36 years with the company) My wife remained covered by my work insurance until she reached 65 at a very low cost to us. Medicare does NOT cover everything, look into a GOOD supplemental medical policy.

5. Social Security helps but need something beyond that. See #3.