The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   How to replace driveshaft in trans? (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=815083)

68 P.O.S. 11-30-2020 06:14 PM

How to replace driveshaft in trans?

Getting ready to pull my engine (350) and trans (TH350) out for cleaning, resealing, etc. From what I've read here, the driveshaft will pull out of the trans as I remove the engine/trans. Sounds easy enough. When I reinstall the engine and trans, what's the best way to re-insert the driveshaft into the trans? This is my first time doing this and didn't find info on it. Thanks!

gmc684x4 11-30-2020 06:38 PM

Re: How to replace driveshaft in trans?

Unbolt the drive shaft first
Not knowing your truck its either 1 or two peice setup remove it drain tranny before removal

Engine hoist I use most i separate engine from tranny

Davidf 11-30-2020 06:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 68 P.O.S. (Post 8842888)
Getting ready to pull my engine (350) and trans (TH350) out for cleaning, resealing, etc. From what I've read here, the driveshaft will pull out of the trans as I remove the engine/trans. Sounds easy enough. When I reinstall the engine and trans, what's the best way to re-insert the driveshaft into the trans? This is my first time doing this and didn't find info on it. Thanks!