The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   Suspension (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Tools for installing bolt-in notch? (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=220016)

fishmunger 12-19-2006 12:47 AM

Tools for installing bolt-in notch?

Ok I ordered my notch and shock relocators from CPP today. I've never done this before but i get the general consensus it isnt too bad...

Ok I have access to an angle grinder with a cut off wheel and a jigsaw for the cutting part. The thing I'm unsure about is how to get off those huge blasted rivets? Do I drill them out with my hand drill (sounds horrible!) or can I grind them down with a grinder or what? I don't have an air chisel or anything fun like that so I'm kinda limited...

Any tips?

Thanks,

Nate

SCOTI 12-19-2006 02:04 AM

Re: Tools for installing bolt-in notch?

Yep.... you can grind the heads off & punch the remainder through the hole (not as easy as it sounds though).

Do yourself a favor & stop off @ your local 'rent-all' center & get a small 110 air-compressor & an air chisel. That will definitely make the job much easier & shouldn't break the bank if you use your time wisely.

action 12-19-2006 10:39 AM

I used drill bits, started small (3/16) then went to a bit the size of the hole for rivet.
If the rivets didn't just fall off (hole drilled off center) I just used a cold chissle to finish. Rivets seem to be soft (to drill). just use cutting oil on drill bits to save them. Use a center punch to mark the center of the rivet.
Good luck
Jac

Hart_Rod 12-19-2006 11:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCOTI (Post 1950050)
Yep.... you can grind the heads off & punch the remainder through the hole (not as easy as it sounds though).