The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   Truck Audio (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Satellite Radio (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=222798)

chevyboy55 01-11-2007 04:48 PM

Satellite Radio

I've been toying with getting satellite radio(i'm a truck driver & spend alot of time listening to either radio or CD's) What service do you use & why?
Kinda leaning towards XM (mostly because I cannot stand Howard Stern,although I could just not tune him in)

CG 01-11-2007 05:01 PM

Re: Satellite Radio

You should do a search, there have been many threads covering this topic. And I agree with you, I cant stand Howard. I have Sirius and never listen to him.

chevybill 01-11-2007 08:03 PM

I have a 50 minute commute to and from work, so I love my Sirius sat. radio.
The equipment was a birthday present and I paid for the subscription.
Sirius has the all Elvis station, classic and outlaw country and nascar stations and these are the ones I listen to most often.

There is constant talk of XM and Sirius merging.

pritch 01-11-2007 09:26 PM

I have Sirius. I don't know anything about XM, but I think the music stations are similar. As long as I can hear the blues whereever I am, it's all good. Go for it, you'll never listen to terrestrial radio again.

FarmTruk 01-11-2007 09:28 PM

I've never owned a Sat Radio, but I've used one extensively in a company-owned car. They are GREAT. The ONLY downside I could see is getting around the idea of paying for radio. But, people already do that with all other media, so...

The XM is great if you're a NASCAR fan, and Sirus if you're a MLB fan.

I like Bluegrass, so either would be a good choice for me :o

My next car radio WILL be an XM portable, with dock for home use.

N2TRUX 01-11-2007 10:34 PM