The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1969 - 1972 Blazers and Jimmys Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Battery cable installation question (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=620625)

underliner6 03-14-2014 02:44 PM

Battery cable installation question

Total noob confusion.

I just bought a new battery for my truck. Sears Die hard AGM with side posts. My old battery had top posts so i had to buy new battery cables to accommodate the side posts. I hooked up the positive cable to the alternator and hooked the negative cable to the side of the engine block just like the old ones were. Then i connected the positive cable to the battery with no problems. But when i make contact with the black ground cable to the negative side of the battery it sparks like hell not allowing me to hook up the negative side.

Im not really interested in electrocuting myself or blowing up the battery in my face... :devil:

What am i doing wrong?

Thanks for your guy's patience and information in advance!

Jim

BMERDOC 03-14-2014 03:02 PM

Re: Battery cable installation question

You won't electrocute yourself so dont worry about that. There is something still on drawing power. Is the key on? Just asking. Seems weird that the bat cable is on the alternator.

yossarian19 03-14-2014 03:33 PM

You've got a current draw. If it's sparking like holy hell, to the point you don't want to hook it up, something is wrong. It's not dangerous, it's just not "right".
12 volts isn't nearly enough to do you any harm - your body's electrical resistance is (in the very worst case) around 2250 ohms. 12 volts / 2250 ohms = not enough to hurt you.
That said - something is consuming power that shouldn't be. Key on? Glovebox light / dome light? Brake switch?