The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   All 4x4 Tech & Off Roading (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   Lift Help for 4x4 GMC (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=773047)

SangerV 10-11-2018 12:41 PM

Lift Help for 4x4 GMC

Hey all I'm new at this and need some advise on correcting a mess. Previous owner lifted the front end by separating the shackle frame mount from the hanger and inserting (welding) 4" rectangular tube in between to install a brush bumper. I want to restore to original configuration with oem bumper. I have a new shackle and hanger and want to lift by the same amount with a block between springs and axle. Question is how tall a block to achieve the same lift ? 4" ? Thanks

jeffahart 10-11-2018 01:52 PM

Re: Lift Help for 4x4 GMC

Quote:

Originally Posted by SangerV (Post 8361839)
Hey all I'm new at this and need some advise on correcting a mess. Previous owner lifted the front end by separating the shackle frame mount from the hanger and inserting (welding) 4" rectangular tube in between to install a brush bumper. I want to restore to original configuration with oem bumper. I have a new shackle and hanger and want to lift by the same amount with a block between springs and axle. Question is how tall a block to achieve the same lift ? 4" ? Thanks

Do not use blocks for lift in the front end. Get springs. Where did you get new shackle hangers for the front? Anyhow, you can use lift blocks in the rear but not the front. It is dangerous and unsafe. You can use a 1" zero rate because it acts like a spring in the pack, other than that, no blocks in the front.

Please post some pics of our current setup. :chevy:

j

sweetk30 10-11-2018 03:13 PM

x2 NO BLOCKS IN FRONT

x2 on post pics so we can help you much faster and better than guessing .

SangerV 10-11-2018 05:23 PM