The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2012, 07:37 PM   #1
ljackson
Registered User
 
ljackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 635
stock throttle cable on a '64?

Did the factory install throttle cables in some trucks. I mean a cable mounted in the dash that goes to the carb to help with cold weather starting. I've been searching here without finding anything. I have a choke cable in my truck. No hole in the dash for the throttle.
__________________
Father and son built. Driven daily since 2012. 283, 3 speed. Mostly original. '81 PS and disk front. Fuel tank relocate.
Maintenance, repairs and upgrades on his dime now.

http://zacks64longfleet.shutterfly.com/

Higher res. photos in my gallery.

Last edited by ljackson; 01-29-2012 at 08:30 AM. Reason: spelling
ljackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 12:11 AM   #2
markeb01
Senior Enthusiast
 
markeb01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Posts: 8,355
Re: stock throttle cable on a '64?

Referring to the following thread, it would appear cable style pedals were not original equipment in C10's until 1971:

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...ht=lfd+adapter
markeb01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:29 AM   #3
ljackson
Registered User
 
ljackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 635
Re: stock hand operated throttle cable on a '64?

Thanks for the reply markeb01. I need to better explain. I am wondering about a hand operated cable that runs from the dash to the carb linkage. It is used to increase the idle when the engine is started during cold weather. My dad has a '61 IH truck. When you start it when the weather is cold, you pull the choke cable a little, pull the throttle a little, then you get out of the truck and let it run until the engine warms up. I have found repop cable with knobs for the 60-63 but only the choke knob for the 64. Did the factory offer the throttle cable as an option in the 1964 trucks? I want to keep my truck as stock appearing as I can. I do not want to drill a hole in my dash to install a cable if it was not a factory option. I have looked at the many factory/stock threads here and have not found anything about it. Sorry that my question was not clear in what I was asking in the 1st attempt.
http://www.classicparts.com/images/29-363.JPG
60-63 throttle cable with knob

My dash before restore (original truck, no throttle cable)
__________________
Father and son built. Driven daily since 2012. 283, 3 speed. Mostly original. '81 PS and disk front. Fuel tank relocate.
Maintenance, repairs and upgrades on his dime now.

http://zacks64longfleet.shutterfly.com/

Higher res. photos in my gallery.

Last edited by ljackson; 01-30-2012 at 01:24 PM.
ljackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 10:23 AM   #4
tincan1966
Registered User
 
tincan1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Independence,KS
Posts: 1,472
Re: stock throttle cable on a '64?

I may be totally incorrect, but am thinking the throttle cable(dash mount, hand operated) was mostly on 30 series on up that had a PTO driven off of trans. Seems that's about the only place I've seen them.
tincan1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 11:31 AM   #5
markeb01
Senior Enthusiast
 
markeb01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Posts: 8,355
Re: stock throttle cable on a '64?

The newest vehicles I've ever owned with separate throttle and choke cables were 1946-48 Chevy passenger cars. To the best of my knowledge this feature was provided because the original carburetor didnít have fast idle linkage, requiring the driver to manually control both engine speed and choke setting when starting the engine.

Our 1960 GMC was dead stock when we bought it and it did not have a throttle cable, and Iíve never seen one in any other 60-66 (which doesnít prove anything). I also went through the 1960 GMC Operators Manual and it doesnít show or mention a throttle cable, but it does not provide any information about a PTO either.

Hopefully someone with direct experience can resolve your question.
markeb01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 01:27 PM   #6
ljackson
Registered User
 
ljackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 635
Re: stock throttle cable on a '64?

Quote:
Originally Posted by markeb01 View Post
The newest vehicles I've ever owned with separate throttle and choke cables were 1946-48 Chevy passenger cars. To the best of my knowledge this feature was provided because the original carburetor didn’t have fast idle linkage, requiring the driver to manually control both engine speed and choke setting when starting the engine.

Our 1960 GMC was dead stock when we bought it and it did not have a throttle cable, and I’ve never seen one in any other 60-66 (which doesn’t prove anything). I also went through the 1960 GMC Operators Manual and it doesn’t show or mention a throttle cable, but it does not provide any information about a PTO either.

Hopefully someone with direct experience can resolve your question.
I don't know if the original carb, that I am using, had the fast idle linkage. I will look. Maybe it does not need a hand throttle.
__________________
Father and son built. Driven daily since 2012. 283, 3 speed. Mostly original. '81 PS and disk front. Fuel tank relocate.
Maintenance, repairs and upgrades on his dime now.

http://zacks64longfleet.shutterfly.com/

Higher res. photos in my gallery.
ljackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 04:56 PM   #7
allaboutchevelles
Registered User
 
allaboutchevelles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: sanford nc
Posts: 496
Re: stock throttle cable on a '64?

my truck is a 64 C10. It came from the factory with a I6 and 3 on the tree and it has the manual choke cable beside the lights or windsheild wiper switches.
__________________
69 chevelle malibu, 64 C-10 shortbed
allaboutchevelles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 04:59 PM   #8
61_FL_Apache
Who Me?
 
61_FL_Apache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Royal Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 3,726
Re: stock throttle cable on a '64?

I have one of each but neither are connected.
__________________
Steve
61_FL_Apache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 10:01 PM   #9
ljackson
Registered User
 
ljackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 635
Re: stock throttle cable on a '64?

Thanks to all for your replies. markeb01ís comments in post #6 reminded me to check the carburetor for fast idle linkage and cam that is operated by the choke cable. The original carburetor, Rochester 2 barrel, 2GC has the linkage and cam. If it works like it is designed, a throttle cable is not needed. So the í64 C 10 did not have a throttle cable. I am still not sure about the 65í and í66. I donít think they would have had it either.

__________________
Father and son built. Driven daily since 2012. 283, 3 speed. Mostly original. '81 PS and disk front. Fuel tank relocate.
Maintenance, repairs and upgrades on his dime now.

http://zacks64longfleet.shutterfly.com/

Higher res. photos in my gallery.
ljackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 11:41 AM   #10
1963c-10
Post Whore
 
1963c-10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: fayetteville nc
Posts: 10,340
Re: stock throttle cable on a '64?

I believe it was a 60-63 option. It is in the 63 accessory manual for all trucks. Was placed in the space to the left of the ignition.
Attached Images
 
__________________
1963 Short bed step side SBW 427 big block and borg warner T-16 HD 3 speed manual
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=519869
1963 Short bed fleetside BBW 348 1st gen big block w/Powerglide
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=619024
1964 Short bed trailer
1963c-10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 04:13 PM   #11
ljackson
Registered User
 
ljackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 635
Re: stock throttle cable on a '64?

Thanks 1963c-10.
__________________
Father and son built. Driven daily since 2012. 283, 3 speed. Mostly original. '81 PS and disk front. Fuel tank relocate.
Maintenance, repairs and upgrades on his dime now.

http://zacks64longfleet.shutterfly.com/

Higher res. photos in my gallery.
ljackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 06:00 PM   #12
Rich909
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Redlands, Ca
Posts: 3
Re: stock throttle cable on a '64?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ljackson View Post
Did the factory install throttle cables in some trucks. I mean a cable mounted in the dash that goes to the carb to help with cold weather starting. I've been searching here without finding anything. I have a choke cable in my truck. No hole in the dash for the throttle.
I realize this is kind of an old thread but a hand throttle is often a useful accessory. I don't believe it was a factory option, but it surely could have been available as a dealer added item.

I added a hand throttle to my 65 Chev C-10, which has a 292 6-Cyl by using the hole for the cigarette lighter. Hook up for V-8's will be different, but a similar technique may work for them as well.

I used the 60-63 throttle cable, available from Classic Industries (and others) that you were considering. The only other hardware required was 2 3/8" flat washers that I picked up at Home Depot. With the assembly mounted in the dash I fed the cable through the existing grommeted hole in the firewall to the engine bay, which is almost a perfectly straight run to the throttle linkage. The best part is that the hand-throttle is all quickly removable and no permanent modifications were made. I have included some photos to show the details.

The second photo in the engine compartment shows the throttle cable, which clears the bottom of the stock 'dry element' air cleaner by 1/2" or more. I normally only use the small chrome air cleaner when working on the engine, since the stock one makes it hard see stuff and to make adjustments. I pulled the knob and wire out of the cable housing and cut 40" from the cable end. That left the cable housing long enough so that 7.5" of the housing extended through the firewall. The wire attached to the bell-crank on the throttle linkage at the return spring attachment.

In operation, when you pull the throttle knob you can feel the gas pedal being depressed as well. Rotating the knob to the left locks it in the current position. Rotating it to the right releases it. Pressing on the gas pedal overrides the hand throttle, and engine speed returns to the throttle setting when the pedal is released. It works well for warm-ups when you need more idle speed without having to use as much choke.

--Rich
Attached Images
   
Rich909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cable, on a '64?, stock, throttle

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com