The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > 67-72 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-11-2012, 07:41 PM   #1
DD1

The Rusty Restoration Project...

As some of you may know from reading my earlier threads, I am a bit new at the truck rebuilding thing. I have come to the conclusion that I am going to have a really hard time finding a decent cab in the NY area, and am going to try and fix mine. A lot of the stuff that I need to take care of is repairable, although some of it is not going to be easy.

I am learning how to weld, and going to start taking a stab at body work on this 71 C10 pickup that I paid WAY too much for. I came across a new issue which I really don't know how I missed it before.

Any suggestions on how I should repair the inside panel of the roof of the truck? It has some rust near the front window, especially around the mirror.

I took off the mirror and the visor and grinded it down a bit to get an idea of how bad it really is.

I will post some more info about the build in this thread.

See attached pics.

Thanks!
Attached Images

Last edited by DD1; 02-07-2012 at 08:52 PM. Reason: needed a new title
DD1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 09:09 PM   #2
DD1

Re: Trying to make Junky perhaps just a little bit Funky...

So this is what the 71 truck looked like when I first got it home. It had a 305 engine that I was told was pulled out of an 85 Camaro. I think the kids I got it from wanted to try and hot rod it or something. I don't think they were interested in restoring it for certain. The 2nd pic is after I took off the hood and grill.