The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1988 - 1998 GMT400 Chevy & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2012, 06:07 AM   #1
TheDirt520
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 145
Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

I have a 99 suburban 1/2ton 350/4l60e ,, when my 4l60e goes out can I swap it for a th350/400? I know it's possible just tryin to figure out what I'd have to change? I'm building a crawler so strength is key, a 4l60e and np 241 aren't strong , I have a rebuilt th350 and np205 layin around I'd like to use,, any help would be great
Posted via Mobile Device
TheDirt520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 12:17 AM   #2
andrewmp6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Louisville,Ky
Posts: 5,816
Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

If its one of the ls engines you'd need a adapter kit to use a older style trans on it.
andrewmp6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 12:20 AM   #3
TheDirt520
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 145
Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

I don't think it is , just a 350 like ud find in any 96-98 chevy
Posted via Mobile Device
TheDirt520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 12:23 AM   #4
TheDirt520
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 145
Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

I'm more worried about the computer not workin right or and other problems that may occur losin the computer controller trans
Posted via Mobile Device
TheDirt520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 07:06 PM   #5
luvbowties
Registered User
 
luvbowties's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: southeasternfoothillsofusa
Posts: 1,557
Exclamation Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDirt520 View Post
I'm more worried about the computer not workin right or and other problems that may occur losin the computer controller trans
Posted via Mobile Device
Hey, 520. I'm 99.9% sure you'll need to have your computer reprogrammed($75-$150). Maybe check with one of the online fuel-injection-conversion-harness companies to verify. Or even with a performance overdrive trans rebuilder like PATC.
Good luck with your decision!
sam

Last edited by luvbowties; 09-29-2012 at 07:13 PM. Reason: did not read entry correctly
luvbowties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:20 PM   #6
TheDirt520
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 145
Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

Will do thanks,, I just know when that damn 4l60e decides to take a dump on me I can put a rebuilt th400 and buy and rebuild a np205 for what the 60e will cost,,, I don't really care about losing the overdrive, other then a trip to Moab it won't see much freeway use
Posted via Mobile Device
TheDirt520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 05:28 PM   #7
blazerboy_4life
70Custom10
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 322
Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

I am curious about this as well. I have a 97 Silverado Extended Cab Short Bed4x4 I didnt pay anything for and I dont want to spend $2,400 having the 4L60E rebuilt. Its got a Vortech 305 and 4x4 shifter on the floor. Aside from driveline length would I need to worry about adapters for the xfer case or mounting up to the motor? I only plan to use the truck as a work truck to pull my bobcat trailer or haul a car around on.
blazerboy_4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:32 AM   #8
BigBlocksRule
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 2,047
Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

Might be able to find a computer and harness from a truck with a stick tranny so it has no input needed from the transmission.
BigBlocksRule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 09:09 AM   #9
blazerboy_4life
70Custom10
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 322
Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

I didnt think about that
Posted via Mobile Device
blazerboy_4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 09:47 AM   #10
luvbowties
Registered User
 
luvbowties's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: southeasternfoothillsofusa
Posts: 1,557
Question Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDirt520 View Post
I have a 99 suburban 1/2ton 350/4l60e ,, when my 4l60e goes out can I swap it for a th350/400? I know it's possible just tryin to figure out what I'd have to change? I'm building a crawler so strength is key, a 4l60e and np 241 aren't strong , I have a rebuilt th350 and np205 layin around I'd like to use,, any help would be great
Posted via Mobile Device
You said, "I'm building a crawler...". You do realize you would not only be giving up od, but also the extra low 1st gear which I assume you would want for crawling?
luvbowties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:45 AM   #11
tattoed71
Registered User
 
tattoed71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: abilene,Texas
Posts: 149
Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

i put a turbo 350 trans in my 91 with a vortec block. had to move cross member up few inches didnt haft to modify driveshaft went right in.besides the lose of overdrive my speedo dont work but my trusty tom tom does the trick but no pcm tuning im running the vortec setup. but im not 4wd but hopefully this gets u closer to ur goal.
Posted via Mobile Device
__________________
paint dont make u go faster
tattoed71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:07 AM   #12
luvbowties
Registered User
 
luvbowties's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: southeasternfoothillsofusa
Posts: 1,557
Exclamation Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

You said the following, "paint dont make u go faster". I agree. I'd like to add..."but it may cause a person to enjoy driving his truck less".
sam
luvbowties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:16 PM   #13
tattoed71
Registered User
 
tattoed71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: abilene,Texas
Posts: 149
Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

its for the guys that spend all there time and money and look at it get out and enjoy what u build
Posted via Mobile Device
__________________
paint dont make u go faster
tattoed71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:34 PM   #14
tattoed71
Registered User
 
tattoed71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: abilene,Texas
Posts: 149
Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

and for the guys that put racing stripes on their rides and think they got something special.
Posted via Mobile Device
__________________
paint dont make u go faster
tattoed71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 05:22 PM   #15
ala1941
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pansey, Alabama
Posts: 1
Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

Anybody use a Transgo 46-MOD vacuum modulator to control one of these electronis transmissions ?
ala1941 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 12:49 PM   #16
400sbctruck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Jackson,tn
Posts: 70
Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?

At worst youll get a code. Earlier th400-kickdown cable later some electronic(by this time it was th375b/standard in trucks). Go with 375/400 and probably flash shift duties out of ecu/pcm. Vacuum shifted them all and kickdown was main diff.
Really savvy programming guy may put different settIng in your pcm to allow use of 1988-1992 th375b trans later of which was electric kickdown.

If this is for power handling i would take 375b although 700r4 can do good with few upgrades such as the covette servos etc. Main performance difference would be 1-2 gearing difference, as 375/400 is steeper off the line.
400sbctruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
4l60e, suburban, th350, transfer case, transmission swap

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2020 67-72chevytrucks.com