The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-23-2015, 02:51 PM   #1
esahic

292 engine upgrades questions

I have a 292 in my 69 c10. The truck runs, but not very good. Im new to the carb engine and all, so I would like some advice on what to do.

It has a Rochester mono jet single carb 1bbl and the previous owner said it had new distributor and wires on it.

Is this a good carb to have?

What else should I do to get the truck purring like new?

I want a reliable truck I can drive everyday.

Help a new guy out.
esahic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 04:07 PM   #2
'68OrangeSunshine

Re: 292 engine upgrades questions

While the Rochester Monojet is simple and reliable it's not known for performance.
I run an Edelbrock 1404, 500 CFM 4 bbl carb on an Offerhauser intake with Clifford headers on the L6 292 in my '68 C/10 Stepside. Block was bored out .030-over [=296 Cubic Inches], 1.84'' intake valves [1.6'' is stock]. Badger cast aluminum pistons, chrome-moly rings, Crane 260H cam. Pertronix Ignitor II ignition.
Get Leo Santucci's book: "Chevrolet Six-Cylinder Power Manual.''
The 292 was made as a no-nonsense, work truck mill --designed to go all day with massive torque at low RPM. It does not wind high, but with bigtime torque you can do a lot with lower [than a V8] RPMs.
Look in at www.inliners.org the website of Inliners International. It's not as good a site as 67-72 Chevy Trucks, but it's very L6 specific.
Good luck.

Every 25 years I like to rebuild that 292, whether it needs it or not.
'68OrangeSunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 04:59 PM   #3
SS Tim