The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-22-2021, 10:35 AM   #1
ratpackv8sonly

Who builds the best 700R4 today?

Looking at buying a built 700R4 for my 69 C/10. Was talking to both monster and bow tie overdrive. But was wondering if anyone here had any thought as to why or why not use someone. Not looking at doing the 4l60E or 4l80E so don't need input on them. Thanks in advance for any info.
ratpackv8sonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 11:16 AM   #2
Rickysnickers

Re: Who builds the best 700R4 today?

I have no experience with Monster, but have read many bad things from others who have used them. I would check into that before having a go with them. You might want to check in with clinebarger. He's on the board. I don't know if he actually sells or not, but he's a mountain of information!! FWIW, I have a 700r4 and bought a convertor from FTI. They seem to have a pretty reputation.
Rickysnickers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 11:35 AM   #3
ratpackv8sonly

Thanks for the info. I'm just not finding many reviews on this subject anymore so thats why I'm asking.
Old 02-22-2021, 11:47 AM   #4
Smitty

Bought mine originally from Bow Tie Overdrive. Had nothing but good experiences with them. But have changed hands since. Lasted 15+ yrs. Recently had it rebuilt locally. If you do it locally then you have direct knowledge of the business. A reputable shop should be able to rebuild one to suit your needs and then you have local support should there be issues.
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 12:10 PM   #5
C101972

We have bought a few from Phoenix Transmission, and have been very happy with them. They excellent customer service as well.