The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2015, 11:03 PM   #1
IHutch5R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Boise ID.
Posts: 115
fuse panel help

can anyone tell me what fuse is for all the guages? I'm not getting any light on my instruments (speedo, temp, batt. turn signals, etc..) replaced all bulbs but not getting power to any of the bulb sockets. Thanks.
Attached Images
 
IHutch5R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 11:55 PM   #2
Lugnutz65
Registered User
 
Lugnutz65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,782
Re: fuse panel help

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHutch5R View Post
can anyone tell me what fuse is for all the guages? I'm not getting any light on my instruments (speedo, temp, batt. turn signals, etc..) replaced all bulbs but not getting power to any of the bulb sockets. Thanks.
Maybe you just have a bad ground or no ground at all (however I believe the cluster itself grounds to the body via the dash). Based on the photo below from my 1965 fuse panel, I'd say the 2nd fuse from the top is for the instrument cluster.
Attached Images
  
__________________
My 65 C10 build: www.lugnutz65chevystepside.weebly.com

Want to know more about T5 transmissions? My website has a T5 Info Page and a Step by Step T5 rebuild.
Lugnutz65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 12:15 AM   #3
IHutch5R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Boise ID.
Posts: 115
Re: fuse panel help

Thank you.. that second fuse down is the only one I'm not getting any power to so I kinda figured on that being the one, but the fuse in it looks fine. I ain't sure where to check from there. Any ideas?
IHutch5R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 12:19 AM   #4
wbc409
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: st cloud mn
Posts: 163
Re: fuse panel help

Check the headlight switch
wbc409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 12:34 AM   #5
IHutch5R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Boise ID.
Posts: 115
Re: fuse panel help

Okay, headlight's and everything else off it work fine though so I know the switch works.
IHutch5R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 12:44 AM   #6
jtrichard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: joshua tree ca.
Posts: 1,484
Re: fuse panel help

You are NOT getting any power on either side of the second fuse?
jtrichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 01:50 AM   #7
IHutch5R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Boise ID.
Posts: 115
Re: fuse panel help

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrichard View Post
You are NOT getting any power on either side of the second fuse?
That's right.. sorry I'm not good with this electrical stuff. I know I would need to check the next soarce but what is that?
IHutch5R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 02:19 AM   #8
Kenfuzed
Registered User
 
Kenfuzed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Glendora CA -> Tampa FL
Posts: 584
Re: fuse panel help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lugnutz65 View Post
Maybe you just have a bad ground or no ground at all (however I believe the cluster itself grounds to the body via the dash). Based on the photo below from my 1965 fuse panel, I'd say the 2nd fuse from the top is for the instrument cluster.
OMG Lugnutz, you're not driving it like that with those tin foil fuses are you?!

The second from the top is where my panel light fuse is as well. You should be reading 12v off the hot side of that fuse connector with your voltmeter.
__________________
1966 C10 Short Fleetside
1988 Sportster, 2008 Street Glide

Ken's 1966 C10 build "Red Ale"
Follow on Instgram: @cv_performance
https://instagram.com/cv_performance
Harley Performance Parts: CV Performance (Harley related)
Enjoying the ride!
Kenfuzed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 06:33 AM   #9
PGSigns
Senior Member
 
PGSigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hayes Va
Posts: 4,396
Re: fuse panel help

Also the headlight switch has a dimmer in it for the gauge panel and to turn on the in side light. If you do have power at the fuse the headlight switch is the next place to go.
Jimmy
__________________
60 to 66 Chevy and GMC window decals
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=661131
Good friends, good food and a hotrod what else do you need?
1966 BBW long fleet Daily driver
1965 BBW short fleet Sold and going to a good home
1965 Suburban
2003 3500 Duramax
2005 Ultra Classic
PGSigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 08:32 AM   #10
1963c-10
Registered User
 
1963c-10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: fayetteville nc
Posts: 10,339
Re: fuse panel help

Was the cluster lights working before the current issue or unknown?

I'd replace the 2nd fuse even if it looks good 1st. Its not uncommon for these glass fuses to get small cracks in them.

Also is the cluster harness plugged into the main harness? Possible the clusters been pulled out before and maybe wasn't hooked back up.
__________________
1963 Short bed step side SBW 427 big block and borg warner T-16 HD 3 speed manual
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=519869
1963 Short bed fleetside BBW 348 1st gen big block w/Powerglide
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=619024
1964 Short bed trailer
1963c-10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 11:11 AM   #11
Lugnutz65
Registered User
 
Lugnutz65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,782
Re: fuse panel help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenfuzed View Post
OMG Lugnutz, you're not driving it like that with those tin foil fuses are you?!

The second from the top is where my panel light fuse is as well. You should be reading 12v off the hot side of that fuse connector with your voltmeter.
Nope! Never drove it with fuses like that. Those pics were for reference just before I gutted the cab. I have thousands of pics of my truck for reference. Memory tends to fade. Haha!

I'm gonna install a brand new American Autowire Classic Update Wire kit next month. Then I hope to get my truck on the road soon.
I'm all about reliability and safety.
__________________
My 65 C10 build: www.lugnutz65chevystepside.weebly.com

Want to know more about T5 transmissions? My website has a T5 Info Page and a Step by Step T5 rebuild.
Lugnutz65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 12:40 PM   #12
jtrichard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: joshua tree ca.
Posts: 1,484
Re: fuse panel help

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHutch5R View Post
Thank you.. that second fuse down is the only one I'm not getting any power to so I kinda figured on that being the one, but the fuse in it looks fine. I ain't sure where to check from there. Any ideas?
Check both ends (on the clip not the fuse) of the lowest fuse .... also see if your dome light works... the lowest fuse feeds tail/dome/brake and then feeds up to the panel fuse
jtrichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 12:45 PM   #13
IHutch5R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Boise ID.
Posts: 115
Re: fuse panel help

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrichard View Post
Check both ends (on the clip not the fuse) of the lowest fuse .... also see if your dome light works... the lowest fuse feeds tail/dome/brake and then feeds up to the panel fuse
Yeah neither side of the clip are getting power on the second one down. The bottom one is getting power on both sides but my dome light doesn't work.
IHutch5R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 12:54 PM   #14
jtrichard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: joshua tree ca.
Posts: 1,484
Re: fuse panel help

do you have power to the orange wire at the brake light switch?
jtrichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 01:26 PM   #15
Crazy Rusty
Registered User
 
Crazy Rusty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 176
Re: fuse panel help

Can you take the box off and see if there are any issues on the back end? Could have a break back there.
Crazy Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 01:51 PM   #16
IHutch5R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Boise ID.
Posts: 115
Re: fuse panel help

Okay, all of a sudden I got the turn signals working and I've got power on both sides of the fuse clips. Not even sure what I did to get that. Haha.. now I'm trying to get all the other lights working.
IHutch5R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 02:03 PM   #17
Lugnutz65
Registered User
 
Lugnutz65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,782
Re: fuse panel help

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHutch5R View Post
Okay, all of a sudden I got the turn signals working and I've got power on both sides of the fuse clips. Not even sure what I did to get that. Haha.. now I'm trying to get all the other lights working.
I had a similar problem in another classic I have. Check the connection where the steering column wires connect to the harness. It's a single harness that runs along the column. I agree that a problem with the steering column harness would not explain everything, but it would create havoc.
__________________
My 65 C10 build: www.lugnutz65chevystepside.weebly.com

Want to know more about T5 transmissions? My website has a T5 Info Page and a Step by Step T5 rebuild.
Lugnutz65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 02:06 PM   #18
IHutch5R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Boise ID.
Posts: 115
Re: fuse panel help

I think I got it.. whoever wired in the stereo did it all funky and I think it was shorting some stuff out. Thank you for all the help guys. Love how I can get on here for help.
IHutch5R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 06:19 PM   #19
IHutch5R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Boise ID.
Posts: 115
Re: fuse panel help

Okay.. who's still listening. All dash lights work fine but the dome light only comes on when you turn the nob to the on position. Does anyone know how that light is activated?
IHutch5R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 06:23 PM   #20
jtrichard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: joshua tree ca.
Posts: 1,484
Re: fuse panel help

THATS the ONLY way it comes on is turn the head light switch ....MAYBE some of the late custom cab trucks may have had door switches but I have NEVER seen one
jtrichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 03:58 PM   #21
IHutch5R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Boise ID.
Posts: 115
Re: fuse panel help

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrichard View Post
THATS the ONLY way it comes on is turn the head light switch ....MAYBE some of the late custom cab trucks may have had door switches but I have NEVER seen one
Okay thanks.. I thought for some reason in my 62' the light came on with the door.
IHutch5R is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com