The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-16-2011, 02:16 PM   #1
duwem

Some Welding Tips for the DYI'ers

I know there is a tools section on this website, but I figured I would post this here for all the DIY'ers that hang out in this part of the site.

I see many different levels of welders digging through the build threads, I'm by no means an expert but I have been welding a lot for the past 10 years anything from race car tube frames to tractor plows and my dad does it for a living every day for the last 30.

I figure others with experience can add info as well. I will start some discussions.

WELD PREP:

CLEAN THE METAL! Welding over rust/paint makes a big mess and usually leads to a bad weld with little strength and penetration. This is something I do see on here and it scares me. If your going to weld on your frame, wire wheel at a minimum, sandblast is better. I usually sandblast small parts in my cabinet prior to welding even if its new metal. Gets rid of the black scale and contaminations.

DO NOT USE BRAKE CLEANER TO CLEAN PARTS YOUR GOING TO WELD. It gives off very toxic fumes that can kill you. There is an article online about someone that almost died.
I got some exposure to it once and had a hard time breathing for a day and felt sick. It luckily passed with no further problems. Use rubbing alchol or something else to clean parts.

The smaller the gap the stronger the weld, spend extra time fitting parts so you dont have burn through or weakness.

Welding is harmefull to your skin. Even a few minutes of tach welding will give you a sun burn. Wear your mask. Wear gloves (I use the thin leather welding gloves). Wear long sleeves and long pants for exended welding.