The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > Welcome and Discussion > General Discussion

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-13-2008, 04:04 PM   #1
69chevytruckin

Non relavent question

This has nothing to do with our year trucks or vehicles in general but how many of you guys are electricians, Union prefered but it doesnt matter at all. i'm curious because it is a field i want to get into and i would like a little insite on the job duties.
Old 10-13-2008, 04:05 PM   #2
Liz
Catchy title goes here..

Re: Non relavent question

moved to general discussion
Liz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 06:18 PM   #3
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Depending on the type of electrician you are you could be doing a number of things.
1.Wiring houses,easy repetetive work with not much challenge
2.Working for a power company-don't know much about that one
3.Plant electrician-they do a lot of standing around scratching their heads and calling tech support.
Is there any particular reason for your intrest in the electrical field?
One of the most needed areas I find in the electrical work is the ability to program and troubleshoot PLC's and Inverter style drives.
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 06:32 PM   #4
BarryB

residential and commercial are the easiest fields in my book. Industrial, There's alot to know when you get into that field. Learning the PLC ,and controls for CNC machinery will put you into most any factory. I'm doing just residential because I do remodels, But I've been around it all for a few years.