The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-22-2011, 11:41 AM   #1
jowwel

The case of the mysterious clutch. (71 C10)

Hi All,

This is my first post here. I recently bought a 71 C10 and just love it. I'm new to working with trucks, but I'm pretty well mechanically inclined and I want to do as much of my own work as possible. That said, I'd like to tell you all about my problem and get some feedback.

In a nutshell, I think my clutch is going bad. Here is why.

Basically, the clutch pedal has back pressure and feels like it's operating normally, but when I push the pedal down, the clutch itself is not engaging.

If I turn the engine off, I can put it into whatever gear I want. When the engine is running, I can only put it into reverse or neutral (from whatever gear I had it in).

So I guess that firstly, I'd like some confirmation that my clutch is going bad (or other suggestions) and secondly, a little help on what I'd need to do to get to the clutch to work on it/replace it if it is going bad. Thanks!

Other things to note:
- The guy who had it before me put in a 3 speed transmission with a hearst shifter and linkage.
- I have a 1 ton hoist to pull the engine if I need to.
jowwel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 01:06 PM   #2
MARKDTN

Re: The case of the mysterious clutch. (71 C10)

I would adjust the clutch before I assume it is bad. Sounds to me it could be a clutch linkage issue.
'07 Tahoe(Son driving)
'14 Suburban-DD
'71 C10-current project
MARKDTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 01:09 PM   #3
LockDoc
The Older Generation

-