The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-30-2020, 06:14 PM   #1
68 P.O.S.

How to replace driveshaft in trans?

Getting ready to pull my engine (350) and trans (TH350) out for cleaning, resealing, etc. From what I've read here, the driveshaft will pull out of the trans as I remove the engine/trans. Sounds easy enough. When I reinstall the engine and trans, what's the best way to re-insert the driveshaft into the trans? This is my first time doing this and didn't find info on it. Thanks!
Old 11-30-2020, 06:38 PM   #2
gmc684x4

Re: How to replace driveshaft in trans?

Unbolt the drive shaft first
Not knowing your truck its either 1 or two peice setup remove it drain tranny before removal

Engine hoist I use most i separate engine from tranny
gmc684x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2020, 06:48 PM   #3
Davidf

Quote:
Originally Posted by 68 P.O.S. View Post
Getting ready to pull my engine (350) and trans (TH350) out for cleaning, resealing, etc. From what I've read here, the driveshaft will pull out of the trans as I remove the engine/trans. Sounds easy enough. When I reinstall the engine and trans, what's the best way to re-insert the driveshaft into the trans? This is my first time doing this and didn't find info on it. Thanks!
The driveshaft is connected to the transmission with a splined (slip) yoke. To remove the driveshaft, you simply unbolt u-joint from the rear axle input yoke, unbolt the center support bearing and then pull the driveshaft (complete with front u-joint/yoke) out of the transmission tailpiece. There is no bolt, clip, pin, or anything else to loosen or remove at the driveshaft/transmission connection. You reverse the process when reinstalling the driveshaft.