The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-19-2012, 12:43 PM   #1
Spassmacher

What the heck is going on here?

So this is my first time assembling an engine, and I'm now getting to all the hoses and fittings and such. This is a picture of my engine as it was before I pulled it and rebuilt it. I'm trying to hunt down the fitting that is going from the top of my water pump to my thermostat housing. I'm not sure why that thermostat housing has an add-a-piece and goes down to the water pump, I'm pretty ignorant about all the passageways for coolant and fluids and such. So far I haven't been able to track down the fitting or the hose at any parts house. Anybody know what's going on here?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/72744831@N05/7227843970/
Spassmacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 11:21 PM   #2
Weasel Diesel

Re: What the heck is going on here?

It is a bypass used for fast warm up. Never seen it used on a chevy pickup smallblock though. Usually seen on marine engines. My Crusader marine engine had one on it and I did away with it when I rebuilt it and put it in my C10.
Weasel Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 01:10 AM   #3
Captainfab
60-66 Nut

I have seen a couple in pickups, but mostly in medium duty trucks. But it seems like the Corvette's may have had that also? Did you loose the original fitting? There are a couple on this page, but since they are stainless they are spendy.

http://www.summitracing.com/search/P...nless+fittings

You could just eliminate the riser under the thermostat housing, and plug the port in top of the water pump, and be just fine. That is how most engines are.
Hydroboost Mounting Plates HERE
Captainfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 08:29 AM   #4
truckdude239