The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > Welcome and Discussion > General Discussion

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-13-2020, 03:15 PM   #1
lupo

How to create older restoration quickly

I'm fairly new here and I've been restoring cars for 40 years. I worked in the paint industry for the 32 years. Some people may disagree with me but that's okay I expect it. I find it interesting that people will cut costs only to cost them more down the road. For instance. Let's take rust removal and prep. I read threads using vinegar, molasses,muriatic acid electrolysis and that will remove rust. The problem with that is it doesn't prevent the rust from returning. These homemade solutions do not contain zinc and that's what prevents the metal from re-rusting.Every auto manufacturer dips the bodies of the cars in a phosphate solution, not molasses. If they don't phosphatides it anywhere that there is rust left in that steel it will show up a bit later and warranty problems will arise

In an older vehicle the rust is usually the heaviest on the floor pans, bottoms of the doors, bottom of the fenders the quarters. Good rust work starts from the inside out. So the next step is go to a hardware store and buy an inexpensive alkyd paint that the can says stops rust. But for how long that's the problem As far as spray cans, outside of weld through primer don't really use them.

That's my thoughts for today if you want to continue the conversation fine if not that's okay too
lupo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 03:23 PM   #2
lupo

Re: How to create older restoration quickly

Okay nevermind
Old 05-15-2020, 08:30 AM   #3
wixthedog

It's interesting to read about but well above my experience in body work to ask any follow up questions.