The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > Diesel Conversions

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-27-2014, 08:09 PM   #1
notchbackgta

24v Questions

I just got home from the junk yard. They had 3 24v Cummins in the engine area, already pulled out of trucks. I really wanted a 12v to put in a Suburban, but I think engines are only $140 each, so I am thinking I would take all three, even if to make only one good one in the end. They are just the engine for the most part, with accessories, I think one still had a transmission attached, manual, which is what I would want.
My question is, can I take the 24v pump off and any of the electronics and put on a VE or P pump and make it run that way? I am really new to the Cummins, I really only know what I have read here.
I have a search saved on craigslist and it emails me with all the Dodge trucks from 89 to 98 that get listed in my area, haven't thought much about the 24v as I wanted to keep electronics out of on old vehicle.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks
notchbackgta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 09:27 PM   #2
notchbackgta

Re: 24v Questions

Also, if I can P or VE pump a 24v, is there anything wrong with those engines that are not as good as the older 12V engines?
Old 12-27-2014, 09:37 PM   #3
Bigdav160

My wife and I both drive 24v as daily drivers. Mine is VE and her's is a common rail.

They have been excellent trucks. Lot of power and easily upgraded. Both are a@ 130k and never a problem. OK, I had to upgrade the lift pump .

Some guys will shy away from anything electronic. Modules don't scare me. However the 24v can be "P Pumped". Check out different Cummins forums. It doesn't look that hard.
'73 Z-28 Camaro
'63 Ford SWB Uni Pickup
'50 Ford Coupe
Bigdav160 is offline   Reply With Quote