The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-22-2020, 12:58 PM   #1
TravisC

Patch Panel Replacement Procedure

My truck is either a 1948-49-or 50, not really sure, it has the Drivers Vent and has doors with Vents, when I got it it was in pieces.

I will be replacing both left and right side floor pans, Lower section of the inner kick panels, lower half of the outer cowl panels and the curved part the goes between the outer and inner.

My question is, in what order does this need to be done in.
I am new to working with metal, but have a friend that is a licensed welder and is willing to help me, he just finished up helping his dad build a 32 ford that had a lot of fab work.

I have a Chinese Plasma cutter and a Eastwood 135 Mig Welder.
I also have a quart of the Eastwood Rust Encapsulator Platinum, that i will put on any of the exposed areas of rust after removing the rotted panels.

Thanks
TravisC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 02:44 PM   #2
_Ogre

Re: Patch Panel Replacement Procedure

Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisC View Post
My truck is either a 1948-49-or 50, not really sure,
not to be a worry wort, but if you don't know the year of your truck, it's probably not registered. i'd register your truck before you spend a dime on it. you can register it without tagging or insuring it. registering it pretty much guarantees you can tag and insure it in your name

how to put your truck year and build thread into your signature
shop air compressor timer
_Ogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 03:08 PM   #3
Tempest67

Ogre makes a very good point. Make sure to register it before you start dumping time and money into it.