The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-20-2011, 07:51 PM   #1
Bustedknuckle

I need expert knowledge.

I bought a 1970 chevy pickup and i am new to these trucks. I want the 67-68 hood but I have been told that i will also have to change the fenders and radiator support if i want to do this. I guess my question is if this is true or not. I have planned to shave my existing fender's marker lights but if I find that i will have to get fenders along with a hood i will just go ahead and get a 67 dog house. To save me some work. And is there a place where i can get a floor pan with a high hump like in a 4WD? I've looked everywhere and all i can find avalible are 2WD floor pans. I guess I can order the hump seperate and install it but I'd rather have it clean frome the press.
Bustedknuckle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 01:08 AM   #2
67c10rustbuket

Re: I need expert knowledge.

As far as I know ( i could be wrong it has happened before) you can use either hood with either fender it just depends on which grill you want to run. A friend had 68 fenders with a 72 grill and that didn't line up well with the fenders at the bottom. The 67-8 fenders need to be use with the same year grill and 69-72 also need the appropriate year grill.
With the high hump situation the floor pans are all the same, the high hump was just bolted into a cut out stock low hump floor pan. you would just have to buy a "high hump" mark and cut out the stamped low hump stock floor and bolt it in. all high humps were bolted in there is no such thing as a stamped one piece high hump floor.
I dont know about the rad support but I have heard there are 2 different ones (to match the hood) 67-8 and 69-72.