The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-30-2020, 09:25 PM   #1
SavageC20

Help Me Wire Up A Siren

I cleaned up this siren that was under the hood of my c20 when I bought it.
I am wanting to wire it up via a ford starter solenoid to a switch under the dash. How do I go about doing this in a safe manner that won't burn the truck to the ground?

(I am just getting into wiring so please bear with me if I ask a lot of questions)
Attached Images

SavageC20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 09:34 PM   #2
Astro-Balls

Re: Help Me Wire Up A Siren

What kind of switch do you have for it?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RWK8GgWD4uA
Astro-Balls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 10:23 PM   #3
Steeveedee
Who Changed This?

Run siren at wrong time, go directly to jail...

'70 Chevy 3/4T Longhorn CST 402/400/3.56 Custom Camper

Simi Valley, CA
Steeveedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 10:43 PM   #4
SavageC20

There is a switch under the dash that has the stock dual horns wired into it. I believe the previous owner did this so he was able to switch from the stock dual horns to a large semi truck horn that used to be under the hood. Both horns were activated by pushing the stock horn button in the steering wheel.

Would I be able to hook the other lead of the switch to the solenoid on the siren and use the stock horn button to engage it? If so, which spot on the solenoid would I hook it to?

Here a poorly drawn wiring diagram that explains what I am thinking of doing...
Also, the switch has "1/2HP 125 VAC" written on it. Not sure what that means, but it might be helpful in determining if the switch can handle it...