The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-25-2012, 05:21 PM   #1
Launchnet1

How to tell outward difference in chevy 292 - 250 engine

We have located what we think is a 292 6 cyl chevy engine and transmission. How can we determine if the engine is a 292? We also want a 400 transmission.

Are there any markings or way of knowing for sure that they are a 292 and 400?

Thanks
Matt
Launchnet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 09:27 PM   #2
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Re: How to tell outward difference in chevy 292 - 250 engine

The 292 engine has the tall side(lifter) covers.They are 6 in tall,250,230 194 are 4 in.The fuel pump is behind the Motor mount on the pass side of a 292.

I'm not much help on tranny's.My B-I-L is a tranny guy so I don't have to mess with them.
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 09:35 PM   #3
Rooster's 67

Also if i recall there is space between the waterpump and the block deck on 292CI but not on the smaller I6 motors
The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Rooster's 67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 09:50 PM   #4
pritch