The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-16-2020, 01:40 PM   #1
JoeDude

Rebuilt 235 IL6 cost?

I have a local shop wanting to charge me $5100 for a complete running engine. He is including the clutch and 3 speed trans. Anyone ever pay in the neighborhood of that amount?

Joe
54 Chevy 3100
JoeDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 02:34 PM   #2
_Ogre

Re: Rebuilt 235 IL6 cost?

it's been 10 yrs since i paid $1200 for a 194 rebuild from my chevy II

how to put your truck year and build thread into your signature
shop air compressor timer
_Ogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 05:05 PM   #3
mick53

I'll start with I'm no expert. Seems high to me. A clutch isn't much and I would think 3 speeds should be laying around everywhere like 350 bell housings. I have a GM 228? laying in the scrap pile with a torque tube 3 speed on it I can't give away. Is the trans rebuilt? Do you get a warranty? I have a 235 that a long time ago I took a flywheel from the junkyard and swapped the ring gear so I could put a 10.4" standard clutch on it instead of the 9 1/8" one. It will be making its way to the scrap pile soon. That was 40 years ago so the numbers may not be right but I kept burning up clutches and the 10.4" was cheaper. It's been in there for maybe 100k miles.
mick53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 05:46 PM   #4
mr48chev

It sounds pretty high but I don't know the labor rates.

I don't know what mods you want either.

My computer isn't getting along with Napa online today but the prices that they quote online for a store in your area should be the full list price that a shop charges you for the part. The Napa website doesn't show discounts.