The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-08-2015, 12:11 AM   #1
Baker819

Ball joint to big for LCA...

This is all about my 1969 C10 swb fleetside

I bought new upper and lower control arms (Dorman) from CPP because my stockers had bad threads for the bushings. And I am using Moog K6023 lower ball joints.

I have never installed lower ball joints before but I did a bunch of research on installation (because I certainly didn't want to buy A-arms again) so I went forth with installing the lower A-arms.

I am an apprentice machinist buy trade and should have measured the parts before install... I didn't. I aligned the first ball joint with the arm and pressed it in half way with a standard installation tool.

I went to my uncles house for him to double check my work because I had it pressed half way in and it seemed like it was 3/64" crooked. He said if it was that far in than it would self align which made since but I was unsure. We pressed it the rest of the way and the ball joint only touched the LCA in one spot (maybe 1/2" wide) and the there was about a 1/32" gap the rest of the way around. Does this sound normal?

When we went to press the other ball joint in it seemed like it was just to big so we measured everything. The ball joint was 1.976" and the hole was 1.956 on the top of the hole and 1.935 on the bottom (where you start to press the ball joint in). These measurements are with 85% of the paint removed.

This makes me wonder if I distorted the other LCA if I pressed the ball joint in with out fixing the hole first. All the metal has to go some where.