The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Electrical

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-19-2021, 12:48 PM   #1
lux

LED tail lights that don't look like LEDs

Does anyone know of an LED tail light that looks stock. Or maybe some of you that are using LED bulbs can share your thoughts.
I work in the entrainment lighting industry so I love the benefits of LED but I'm not a fan of the look.

Thanks
lux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 03:20 PM   #2
Southcity

Re: LED tail lights that don't look like LEDs

Not a fan of the look of an LED bulb when lit, regardless of the housing/lens that it sits in? or are you referring to the way some of the aftermarket complete LED taillight assemblies look?
Old 02-19-2021, 03:30 PM   #3
lux

Not a fan of the honeycomb / matrix look. I want it to look like a traditional old chevy tail light would look like but, with the long life, energy efficiency and reliability of an LED. That matrix pixel look looks too modern for me.
Old 02-19-2021, 04:08 PM   #4
Southcity

Thanks for clarifying, the "LED's on a circuit board" look is not for everyone. But as you mentioned, LED performance is great. One option that may be a good middle ground is to use the stock housing with an LED replacement bulb (i.e 1156). Multiple choices for lumens and in some cases even a bright or muted light output.
Old 02-19-2021, 04:46 PM   #5
lux

Yes, that what I was thinking. That's what I mentioned in the original post. I for sure would want it as bright as possible to avoid the hit from behind.
So I'm wondering what other folks are using for LED bulbs and how they like them.
Old 02-19-2021, 11:15 PM   #6
dmjlambert

These are the ones I have and I like them.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B082WNNQ3W/
Name:  LED.jpg
Views: 158
Size:  44.4 KB