The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-08-2015, 12:46 PM   #1
pdawg

Exclamation Waking up the ZZ

Hey experts! Looks like spring is here so I need some advice on a problem I put my '72 Custom Deluxe to bed with last fall. My son & I completed an engine swap for the aforementioned GM ZZ383, but I haven't been able to get her running to its potential yet. After over carbing it I put a Holley 670 Street Avenger on it. I'm not a mechanic but I have played around a bit over the years. I completed it with a Mallory HEI distributor. It has no vacuum advance - per GM so I've timed it as per spec at 10 degrees, with the distributor bringing in the rest. When the engine is hot ( which is barely into the normal range) - it starts to run rough & if I put it in park it revs up considerably & will diesel if I shut it off. One would think vacuum leak but I chased the usual suspects ( carb base, intake manifold) with an unlit propane torch looking for an increase - to no avail. I am using an Edelbrock Airgap manifold. I've replaced all the vacuum lines including the brake booster line, but still no joy. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Also - once I do get this solved I've been thinking of changing to a posi rear end & 700R4. Thinking 343 gears should wake it up a bit but still not rev too much on the hi way. Any suggestions re: brand of posi, parts required, or tips regarding this would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!!
Perry
pdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 01:05 PM   #2
Hollow65

Re: Waking up the ZZ

What octane fuel are you using? You say you over carbed it originally? How many hours on this engine? What's your fuel pressure at, should be around 7psi max. Sometimes carbon buildup will cause this.