The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > projects and builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-04-2015, 10:07 PM   #1
53Sparky

Rust Therapy - 62 C-10

I've been building my 62 C-10 for the last 15 months, and I have a thread on the HAMB too. The next posts will get you up to speed on my progress over the last year...

After a lot of watching Craigslist and other places, I've finally found my next project. This morning my friend Brian and I took a 3 1/2 hour drive down to La Junta, CO to pick up this 2 owner Colorado farm truck.

Here are the basics:

283 - runs, but smokes.
3OTT - sloppy linkage, seems to be stuck in 3rd at the moment.
6 lug axles
The truck has been parked since 2003.
Everything seems to be virgin untouched stock. No weird radio cutouts, stock interior. I think the rear bumper is an aftermarket mod.
I'm very impressed with how solid the body is.
It looks like the driver door has been creased by opening too far, and there is a dent in the rear passenger quarter panel.
53Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 10:09 PM   #2
53Sparky

Re: Rust Therapy - 62 C-10

The cab corners are clean and rust free. When I pulled up the flooring it looks like you can still see factory paint/primer on most of the floor. I saw some evidence of some rodent nests under the seat which I'll clean up soon.

The plan is to do a frame off rebuild of all things mechanical but try to keep as much of the body as close as possible to what it looks like right now. I want a very functional and mechanically reliable preservation of what it is now. It's a 51 year old truck so it should have some scars and grey hair. I'm just doing a hip and knee replacement.