The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-19-2009, 09:46 PM   #1
63whoopie

Frame swap? Just crossmember? How about that transmission?

Hey y'all. I'm new to the forum after lurking and reading for a few months. I have more than a few questions about alot of topics, many of which have already been covered and I just haven't found them yet (I may even boggle you with some origional [stupid] questions too.)

While reading my muses, keep in mind:

I am a college student, but college and home are in the same town; as such, I have access to my own 4 car garage, so I have a place to work and store some parts.
My tool selection, thanks to multiple elderly deceased relatives, is fairly complete for a 19 year old. I lack a welder and a air compressor and related tools, both of which I am looking to purchase as soon as I get an idea of what to get. Welder I am looking for a used one, MIG obviously, Lincoln? Miller?, should I go 110 or must it be 220? What duration/cycle/amps/ thickness weldable/ shielded or unshielded etc mumbo-jumbo should I be looking for? I don't know much besides some general info, but am quite excited to learn to weld and hope to be able to do my own cab floors and other tasks (framework?). On the compressor, also used, I figgure a 30 or 40 gallon oilless craftsman or something... forgot the other stats.... will get my by. I am ok waiting for it to catch up, will not run a paint gun, just need it for cutoff wheel, impact wrench, air ratchet, etc. I work part-time and pay 2 vehicle payments, gas, etc, except for college, so I am not very affluent. These tools will be a study in compromising quality with affordability.

My questions, round 1-