The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-09-2020, 09:46 PM   #1
Asshat

Looking for advice - wood bed 63 C20

I pulled all the rails from the bed, in the process of doing the brakes. I’m not sure how far to finish the inside of the bed and how to go about it. The truck will not be painted for some time, so it’s going to remain with the patina finish.

I thought about wire brushing everything inside the bed, especially the rusty areas, then spraying with rust inhibitor. Maybe even giving the whole inside a coat of primer and white paint. I plan on getting a wood kit, but I have never done one of these beds before - not sure what I am getting myself into.

Would like some input from the experts. Might be a good time to replace the brake lines too.

Pretty sure I won’t be able to drive the truck without putting in the bed first.
Attached Images

Old 07-09-2020, 11:09 PM   #2
cwcarpenter98

Re: Looking for advice - wood bed 63 C20

I would not recommend driving it without the bed wood. The bed wood acts like a spacer where it goes under the mounting flanges of the bed sides. I had a steel plate over the rotted out bed wood of my truck. The bed sides were extremely loose and shook all over the place until I replaced the wood.

For all the parts under the bed, if you wanted to, you could knock off the loose rust and spray it with some rust reformer. That's what I have been doing on some of my front sheet metal pieces until I strip the truck down completely for a full restoration. If you are leaving the outside of the bed as is, I would leave the visible parts of the inside as is. The parts that are not visible with the bed installed could be cleaned up and painted if desired.