The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-09-2015, 09:17 AM   #1
bigolebuford

Steering column swap...

Hi everyone!!! This is my first time posting on a forum like this so I apologize if im not doing it right... I have a 67 C10 with a factory auto column... I think the blinker switch and hazard switch are bad... The steering wheel bolts have been broken off in the column... So my question is this... Can I swap in a nice tilt column from an 80's Chevy??? How about a 90's Chevy column??? Also can I use a 70's to 80's Camaro column??? Also I have never dealt with a column... Can anyone send pictures as to what all I need to get??? I mean are there moving parts at the bottom that I need to get??? Thanks in advance guys!!!
bigolebuford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 07:19 PM   #2
casper71

Re: Steering column swap...

You can use any of those year columns. I have them in my trucks, you need to get creative with the dash a little and with the column mount. The dimmer switch on column will need to be moved up. I prefer the key on column and dimmer. It is an option if you can not find a used one.
Old 02-09-2015, 08:36 PM   #3
jim ellis

you can also find a factory tilt, or a chevy van from the same era with a tilt will work and you still maintain all the original hookups and will look stock.

jim e
jim ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 10:08 PM   #4
leftybass209