The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-26-2002, 12:03 AM   #1
goat455

Post Original Radio or aftermarket CD player?

Hello all,

I'm new to the Chevy world, much less the truck world so I'm hoping to get a little advice from the experts. I just bought a 72 Cheyenne LB that missing the radio. My question is should I keep the truck original and find an original radio or should I install a CD player with all the goodies? I know in the GTO world, cutting out the radio area is not wise, but for an original 72 Cheyenne, what would you guys recommend? I can't see myself installing an underdash CD as there is very little area to make it fit..Any adivse is appreciated? BTW, any Chevy truck clubs in the SF Bay Area out there?
goat455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2002, 12:08 AM   #2
Big69C20 Toy
Livin' it up.

Good to have you here man. Greatest board around. As far as the stereo, well i know some guys have mounted theirs under the dash and others used the glove box. Myself i got a 'classic' reproduction. Am/fm and cassete. it's low power output but i've got an amp etc. all the same. It fits in the factory setup but i know it's not stock. They're a li'l cheaper than cd players and no cutting required. As i'm sure many will say, it's yer truck, do what you want. If you want a restored 'show' vehicle or are very nostalgic then i'd say find a stock one or something like that. IF you want the tunes and cd capability then go fer it. Get an MP3 head deck if you do cut, no point in having anything less if you can burn cd's (225songs or so per cd). Alright i hope that helped some, if you need some ideas for a system, lemme know.
Good luck

------------------
69 Custom 20, 396BB,Longbed fleetside.