The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Electrical

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-05-2019, 07:04 PM   #1
Bentbolt

Turn signals are always one.

I have a 1966 c10. This is my first project I have wired. The whole project hasn’t had one-hick up.

I put all new wiring kit and column. I used a speedway wiring kit and ccp column. The rear turn signals are always on steady not flashing. I have the relay in the fuse panel. I have to check the front tonight as I don’t have the hood on so they aren’t hooked up.

TIA

instgram 65see_x
.……………………….. ____
..………________//__l \_____
,,,,,,,/__(O)___//___/__(O)_/
Bentbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 08:38 PM   #2
ray_mcavoy

Re: Turn signals are always one.

The rear turn signals in these trucks also serve as the brake lights (they use the same bulbs and share much of the wiring).

So I would recommend checking your brake light switch. It might simply be out of adjustment and not allowing the brake pedal to push the switch plunger in (or in far enough) to turn off the brake lights.
ray_mcavoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 08:48 AM   #3
Bentbolt

Thanks Ray. I wasn't getting power to the brake switch. I got power now to the brake switch. I still don't have turn signals or brakes but I have hazards. I double checked the column connections. When I get the hazards on I can hear the relay clicking.

instgram 65see_x
.……………………….. ____
Old 09-06-2019, 07:27 PM   #4
ray_mcavoy

You're welcome!