The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   Tools, Shops and Shop Safety (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=89)
-   -   Garage door openers (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=190305)

Matt67C10 02-22-2006 07:06 PM

Garage door openers

I'm looking for two garage door openers that will work for 8 foot doors. The doors are not very heavy. The contractor that built my garage said that a 1/2hp opener would probably work fine. What does everybody recommend? Home Depot sells 1/2hp Chamberlain openers in belt and chain drives, ranging in price from $129-$289. I know I do not want a direct-drive opener, my Dad near killed himself installing his, but the opener must work with 8 foot doors. Any input/opinions would be greatly appreciated.

LUV2XCLR8 02-22-2006 09:36 PM

Re: Garage door openers

I have a Lift Master, the thing is bad arse, but a lil noisy, I have heard
good and bad about everything out there, Sears offers one w/ a back-
up battery, for like power outages, and I have heard alot of people use
the ones w/ the Screwdrives, supposivly really quiet, did I help at all :hm:

phantom dually 02-22-2006 10:06 PM

I have a craftsmen chain drive and is is very quiet. My buddy has a screw drive and his is LOUD as hell.

piecesparts 02-22-2006 10:30 PM

The Lift Master and the Chamberlain brand door openers are from the same company. I have two of them, one is on a 12X10 foot door and the other is on a 9X7 foot door. Both work fine, and they are both chain drive units. I like that, due to the adjustability and ease of dealing with any repairs.

71SWBChevy 02-22-2006 10:33 PM