The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1969 - 1972 Blazers and Jimmys Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Speakers for Double Wall Top Blazers (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=826615)

boynton 10-07-2021 07:35 PM

Speakers for Double Wall Top Blazers

I am wrapping up my '72 K5 with a 68 nose build (I'm sorry I have not done a build thread :( )

I am new to the Blazer world and am wondering what everyone else has done with their sound system that has a double wall top. I have seen the side panels for the bedsides and I like them, but it limits the amount of times I would take the top off since I would not be able to access the hardware easily. I am curious what others have done (pictures please!) with their sound system.

I have a 6 point roll bar that covers the back seat and I was thinking of doing speaker enclosures similar to the ones you see on wake-boarding boats. I am open to any and all ideas. I am not going to cut the doors so I think that I am limited to speakers mounted under the dash for the front, but I would like another two for the rear and a sub/amp.

boynton 10-07-2021 07:38 PM

Re: Speakers for Double Wall Top Blazers

3 Attachment(s)
Photos

truckster 10-07-2021 08:12 PM

Honestly, I have a stock AM/FM radio stored away somewhere, but I haven't been able to find it. My "stereo" is the sound of the dual exhausts (I run a soft top). I think if I did have a stereo I would have to turn it up so high to hear it that I would be deaf in short order.

So I guess I'm no help, but your Blazer is coming along nicely.

boynton 10-08-2021 12:14 AM

:lol

Thanks. It has been a long project for sure. I started about 4 years ago just dabbling with it and got serious this year. I hope to have it driving by the end of the month.

Quote: