The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   LSx Swaps (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=206)
-   -   Will this fuel tank work for LS Swap (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=824865)

cgster 08-16-2021 10:44 AM

Will this fuel tank work for LS Swap

1 Attachment(s)
Looking to do an LS swap on a 72 C10. Im not a mechanic by any means so trying to find out as much as I can before I decide to put the money and headache into doing this versus just dropping a 350 into the truck.

I already have the following type aftermarket under bed gas tank, will this gas tank support an LS swap motor? Thanks.

Thealien 08-16-2021 11:49 AM

Re: Will this fuel tank work for LS Swap

You will need to install an internal or external fuel pump. Internal is preferred as the fuel helps cool the pump. I bought my pump assembly from a place called tanks Inc.

Custom 68 08-16-2021 03:38 PM

I ran something similar for years with an external fuel pump. Like Thealien mentioned an internal pump is better. I swapped a few years back to more of a custom tank that would accept the correct internal high pressure pump. That is probably the best but you can use what you have. Just keep the pump as close to the tank as possible.
Dave

rodstored-72 08-16-2021 06:35 PM

I would think that as long as the tank opening is acceptable to a electric pump(s) then it should be ok? also I believe that the tanks (in general) need to be fuel injection exceptable (in tank baffles)....:ito:

Thealien 08-16-2021 09:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rodstored-72 (Post 8958691)
I would think that as long as the tank opening is acceptable to a electric pump(s) then it should be ok? also I believe that the tanks (in general) need to be fuel injection exceptable (in tank baffles)....:ito: