The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1988 - 1998 GMT400 Chevy & GMC Pickups Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400? (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=544793)

TheDirt520 09-26-2012 06:07 AM

Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
I have a 99 suburban 1/2ton 350/4l60e ,, when my 4l60e goes out can I swap it for a th350/400? I know it's possible just tryin to figure out what I'd have to change? I'm building a crawler so strength is key, a 4l60e and np 241 aren't strong , I have a rebuilt th350 and np205 layin around I'd like to use,, any help would be great
Posted via Mobile Device

andrewmp6 09-29-2012 12:17 AM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
If its one of the ls engines you'd need a adapter kit to use a older style trans on it.

TheDirt520 09-29-2012 12:20 AM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
I don't think it is , just a 350 like ud find in any 96-98 chevy
Posted via Mobile Device

TheDirt520 09-29-2012 12:23 AM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
I'm more worried about the computer not workin right or and other problems that may occur losin the computer controller trans
Posted via Mobile Device

luvbowties 09-29-2012 07:06 PM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TheDirt520 (Post 5618805)
I'm more worried about the computer not workin right or and other problems that may occur losin the computer controller trans
Posted via Mobile Device

Hey, 520. I'm 99.9% sure you'll need to have your computer reprogrammed($75-$150). Maybe check with one of the online fuel-injection-conversion-harness companies to verify. Or even with a performance overdrive trans rebuilder like PATC.
Good luck with your decision!:mm:
sam

TheDirt520 09-29-2012 11:20 PM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
Will do thanks,, I just know when that damn 4l60e decides to take a dump on me I can put a rebuilt th400 and buy and rebuild a np205 for what the 60e will cost,,, I don't really care about losing the overdrive, other then a trip to Moab it won't see much freeway use
Posted via Mobile Device

blazerboy_4life 11-26-2012 05:28 PM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
I am curious about this as well. I have a 97 Silverado Extended Cab Short Bed4x4 I didnt pay anything for and I dont want to spend $2,400 having the 4L60E rebuilt. Its got a Vortech 305 and 4x4 shifter on the floor. Aside from driveline length would I need to worry about adapters for the xfer case or mounting up to the motor? I only plan to use the truck as a work truck to pull my bobcat trailer or haul a car around on.

BigBlocksRule 11-27-2012 08:32 AM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
Might be able to find a computer and harness from a truck with a stick tranny so it has no input needed from the transmission.

blazerboy_4life 11-28-2012 09:09 AM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
I didnt think about that
Posted via Mobile Device

luvbowties 11-28-2012 09:47 AM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TheDirt520 (Post 5613354)
I have a 99 suburban 1/2ton 350/4l60e ,, when my 4l60e goes out can I swap it for a th350/400? I know it's possible just tryin to figure out what I'd have to change? I'm building a crawler so strength is key, a 4l60e and np 241 aren't strong , I have a rebuilt th350 and np205 layin around I'd like to use,, any help would be great
Posted via Mobile Device

You said, "I'm building a crawler...". You do realize you would not only be giving up od, but also the extra low 1st gear which I assume you would want for crawling?

tattoed71 11-30-2012 12:45 AM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
i put a turbo 350 trans in my 91 with a vortec block. had to move cross member up few inches didnt haft to modify driveshaft went right in.besides the lose of overdrive my speedo dont work but my trusty tom tom does the trick but no pcm tuning im running the vortec setup. but im not 4wd but hopefully this gets u closer to ur goal.
Posted via Mobile Device

luvbowties 11-30-2012 10:07 AM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
You said the following, "paint dont make u go faster". I agree. I'd like to add..."but it may cause a person to enjoy driving his truck less".
sam

tattoed71 11-30-2012 01:16 PM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
its for the guys that spend all there time and money and look at it get out and enjoy what u build
Posted via Mobile Device

tattoed71 11-30-2012 01:34 PM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
and for the guys that put racing stripes on their rides and think they got something special.
Posted via Mobile Device

ala1941 12-15-2013 05:22 PM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
Anybody use a Transgo 46-MOD vacuum modulator to control one of these electronis transmissions ?

400sbctruck 12-27-2013 12:49 PM

Re: Can I swap my 4l60e for a Th350/400?
 
At worst youll get a code. Earlier th400-kickdown cable later some electronic(by this time it was th375b/standard in trucks). Go with 375/400 and probably flash shift duties out of ecu/pcm. Vacuum shifted them all and kickdown was main diff.
Really savvy programming guy may put different settIng in your pcm to allow use of 1988-1992 th375b trans later of which was electric kickdown.

If this is for power handling i would take 375b although 700r4 can do good with few upgrades such as the covette servos etc. Main performance difference would be 1-2 gearing difference, as 375/400 is steeper off the line.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2020 67-72chevytrucks.com