The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Exhaust Manifold Resurfacing? (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=323572)

welch_41 01-12-2009 11:36 PM

Exhaust Manifold Resurfacing?

Guys, I need some help. I'm restoring a 66 C10 with a 250 and it's my first build. I'm learning as I go so bare with me if this is a dumb question. My exhaust manifold is pitted and needs to be resurfaced. My question is do I need to send in both the intake and exhaust manifolds to be resurfaced so that after they are bolted back together they will sit flush against the head? Or, do I only send in the pitted exhaust manifold for a shave and the tiny gap created between the exhaust manifold and head, because the intake is a little longer, will have no negative affect?
My gears are grinding in my head because I can't seem to find any answers for this...whats the use of google when it can't answer everything. :) Thanks for any help!

ol Curt 01-12-2009 11:42 PM

Re: Exhaust Manifold Resurfacing?

All three will give a nice flush fit, but I just did the intake and head.

protrash64 01-13-2009 12:12 AM

I think I would send/take both and ask the machinist. Do they both use gaskets that are similar or that change the gap? You definitely dont want the intake leaking.

welch_41 01-13-2009 12:23 AM

They both use the same gasket. A buddy of mine along with ol Curt both said the same thing. I think I'm more worried about too much being shaved off and the gasket not sealing properly.

protrash64 01-13-2009 12:27 AM

Im not that familiar with the 6's. I know the intake and exhaust fit together. Have you thrown a staight edge on the parts just to eyeball it? Maybe some sealer on the exhaust would do the trick.