The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   3100 Tow Rig (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=704244)

bchamb3 04-15-2016 03:28 PM

3100 Tow Rig

Hello all,

I am completely new to the whole classic chevy truck scene, but my God! These are awesome looking trucks! I am looking to purchase a 47-55 advance design body style and was wondering if it could be used to tow? My idea is to purchase the truck and use it to haul a 22-26 foot airstream trailer around town for my business. (I know that highway pulls will probably be out of the question due to wheelbase of the truck) The problem is that I don't know much about towing requirements, especially for these trucks. Is this possible given the right setup, i.e motor, hitch, tranny, etc.? What if I want to put airbags on the truck?

Thank you all for your help and keep on restoring these beautiful trucks!

dsraven 04-15-2016 07:45 PM

Re: 3100 Tow Rig

if it were me I would probably think about upgrading the suspension and steering so it is easier to drive and back up with a trailer, unless you have huge forearms and love strongarm steering. a brake upgrade would possibly be an idea as well. everybody has their own thoughts and opinions though. I am just thinking about the actual driving part and being able to turn and stop quickly like a newer vehicle so you don't end up in the back seat of some family's car with the kids and car seats.
just my opinion

mr48chev 04-16-2016 01:00 AM

I towed a loaded 16 ft U haul behind my 48 for 2500 miles and I'll have to say the tail wagged the dog every inch of that 2500 miles. Just too much weight back there.