The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-16-2022, 08:37 PM   #1
1970BannerBlazer

454: Help Diagnosing Loose Rockers

Some of you have been following this issue over in my firing order thread. Decided to move this to a new thread to get more eyes on the issue.

Engine: 454. Unknown origin or build. IV version I guess. I’m new to 454s and chevy engines. Built a 440 from scratch so I have some experience. But by no means am I an expert.

Issue: After removing all rockers and pushrods I have major rocker clatter due to loose rockers on about half my rockers.

Prior to removing the rockers I didn’t have any clattery rockers.

I removed the rockers because I found a bent pushrod on one of them when I was chasing down some rough idle issues. I removed all rockers and pushrods to confirm if any other were bent. Non were.

While the rockers were off I decided to replace the pushrod retainers as the ones in my engine where janky with the pushrod guide opening having been majorly widened for some reason.

Install process:
Placed the pushrod into the correct hole
Seated into the lifter
Placed the pushrod retainer
Used blue thread locker on the rocker bolt
Torqued to 50lbs

Initial startup:
75% of the rockers were chattery.
Let it run for about 20 min and a few rockers tightened up
Took it on a few drives, no change in the other rockers.

Oil pressure idle: 60 drops to 50 when warm
Oil pressure running: 70

My guess is that maybe my new comp cam retainers might be a tad thicker than my old ones. Thus raising the rocker bolt slightly and introducing a gap? Just a guess right now till I can measure. Also, if this is the case then it should be for all of them.