The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-08-2017, 02:07 PM   #1
Renee

1959 Chevrolet Apache pick up

http://st.hotrod.com/uploads/sites/2...95%3B%2A%2C%2A

Hello there:

I am an author writing a story about a girl whose only inheritance is a mechanical bull. I recently spent some time with the guys in the '73 to '87 forum to get some help on selecting a vintage truck to haul the closed trailer with the bull inside.

I have now decided on the 1959 Apache pick up in turquoise for the truck. It will have a big old pair of steer horns riveted to the front. Any ideas about what type of tires it would need to haul the trailer?

I decided on the older truck mostly for its looks but also because I have a scene where the truck rear tire blows out, the trailer fishtails and goes backward down a hill, dragging the truck with it. It will also be wet and windy to add to the scene and make it more believable.

Any thoughts or input as to the truck or the scene would be welcome!
Renee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 11:01 PM   #2
Renee

Re: 1959 Chevrolet Apache pick up

I'd also to find out any info on what the original key fob might have looked like.
Old 01-09-2017, 10:28 PM   #3
dsraven

pretty tough to get one of these old gm trucks to back down a hill, trailer or not. lots of grunt power. only wanna go uphill. haha. maybe a Ford?
key fob was non existent, just a couple of keys on a dealership labelled tag.
good luck. post a few pics when you get it done.
oh, don't hurt the truck or you'll have a bunch of angry guys asking questions. haha
dsraven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 12:15 AM   #4
Renee

Thank you!
Old 01-10-2017, 12:17 PM   #5
Renee