The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > All 4x4 Tech & Off Roading

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-18-2011, 07:19 PM   #1
texassquarebodies
Truck Nut

Burb driveshaft too short after lift

This is my first time dealing with a 4wd, let alone a lift. Always been a lowered two wheel guy. I have a 1988 3/4 4x4 burb. I bought a Rough country 6" lift after a month of owning it. After the lift, the rear driveshaft looks like its about too fall out. It sticks out about 2-3" more. My transfer case has not been dropped yet, but my buddy said it might mess up my front drive shaft angles???

The rear blocks are sloped towards the front of the burb. The instructions said nothing about needing a longer driveshaft. Ive got about 20 driveshafts to choose from so I might go that way. Ideas??????
Attached Images

Old 12-18-2011, 08:49 PM   #2
Doug_J

Re: Burb driveshaft too short after lift

TRANSFER CASE LOWERING INSTRUCTIONS
For ― & ūT 1980 and later model years on 4” and 6” lifts, the transfer case is lowered by using stock
mounting hardware on the transfer case cross-member.
1. Place floor jack under transfer case cross-member, raise jack until it applies pressure to the cross-member.
Remove stock mounting hardware.
2. Lower floor jack until there is enough space between the cross-member and the frame to install stock spacer
and mounting hardware per the picture. Tighten all hardware.
FRONT CONSTANT VELOCITY U-JOINT STOPS MODIFICATION INSTRUCTIONS
The stops on the front cv u-joint and the stops on the front drive shaft must be modified to obtain maximum
suspension travel on all 4” and 6” lift systems (see diagram below). These stops are designed to prevent the
drive shaft from contacting the road surface in the event of a u-joint failure at the front-end housing.