The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1969 - 1972 Blazers and Jimmys Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2024, 08:18 AM   #1
tregrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: castle rock CO
Posts: 23
Dakota Digital gas gauge

Is there a way to get this thing to read properly? it reads full, half full, empty etc all on a full tank lol
tregrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2024, 09:12 AM   #2
hemi43
Registered User
 
hemi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,500
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

get rid of the shorted wire.
hemi43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2024, 10:00 AM   #3
tregrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: castle rock CO
Posts: 23
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

well, poop, was hoping there was an easier way. was thinking of dropping my fuel cell and welding a fuel inlet on it and getting it to where i dont have to climb in the back to fill up so when i do that i will chase it down. thanks for the help.
tregrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2024, 04:41 AM   #4
dec010974
Registered User
 
dec010974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 911
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

GM. I have a Holley fuel tank with Dakota Digital with gauges. I bought and used the Dakota Digital sending unit which has the correct ohms to give you the correct fuel level. Install and follow the directions on how to set up the fuel level float and hopefully that works. Good luck.
dec010974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2024, 07:54 AM   #5
tregrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: castle rock CO
Posts: 23
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

Thanks dec, im gonna check the ground wire and the sending wires first and maybe this coming weekend drop the tank and weld on the fuel inlet. If the wires arent the issue then i will get the DD sending unit.
tregrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2024, 08:41 AM   #6
hemi43
Registered User
 
hemi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,500
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by tregrad View Post
Thanks dec, im gonna check the ground wire and the sending wires first and maybe this coming weekend drop the tank and weld on the fuel inlet. If the wires arent the issue then i will get the DD sending unit.
What sending unit are you using now?
hemi43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2024, 09:27 AM   #7
tregrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: castle rock CO
Posts: 23
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by hemi43 View Post
What sending unit are you using now?
I dont know, I bought it with the fuel cell in it.
tregrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2024, 12:08 PM   #8
SeventyOne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 1,372
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by tregrad View Post
I dont know, I bought it with the fuel cell in it.
If you dont know what OHM the fuel sender uses you can change the OHM setting in your dakota setup to try to match what you have.

First I'd made sure your wiring/ground is solid, then assuming you have a full tank and the gauge doesnt read full, go into the dakota setup and change the ohm for the gauge to see if that changes it to read properly.
SeventyOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2024, 09:40 AM   #9
tregrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: castle rock CO
Posts: 23
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeventyOne View Post
If you dont know what OHM the fuel sender uses you can change the OHM setting in your dakota setup to try to match what you have.

First I'd made sure your wiring/ground is solid, then assuming you have a full tank and the gauge doesnt read full, go into the dakota setup and change the ohm for the gauge to see if that changes it to read properly.
ahhh THANKS, this would seem to be the easiest first step. I still have to drop it to get the fuel inlet welded on but thanks a bunch!
tregrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2024, 02:03 PM   #10
SeventyOne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 1,372
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by tregrad View Post
ahhh THANKS, this would seem to be the easiest first step. I still have to drop it to get the fuel inlet welded on but thanks a bunch!
Oh well if you have to drop the tank anyways you might as well test the sender to see what ohms it uses.
SeventyOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2024, 06:43 PM   #11
tregrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: castle rock CO
Posts: 23
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

Ok so i figured out that there is a huge difference in the wiring of an electric fuel pump opposed to the manual float sensor. It was grounded to the HDX box, which it is not supposed to be. I went through most all of the pre programmed settings for sending units and the only one that registered to almost full was the manual one. I just topped it off and it reads just over 7/8 full.
I found out after cleaning it off that it is a Holly electric fuel pump and then researched it to have these ohm settings:

A Holley in-tank electric fuel pump typically has an ohms range of 73-10 ohms for Ford, Mercury, 144-429ci models, and 0-90 ohms for Chevy, GMC, Truck, 250-454ci models.

I will get it to the 0-90 range and see what happens
tregrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2024, 07:30 PM   #12
tregrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: castle rock CO
Posts: 23
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

ok, so, what i did after i figured out that the 0-90 range didnt work, not even close, was to go into the setup, scroll to Fuel, then to Input and from there you can scroll through the different ohm reading. They have a bunch of them such as "import" "ford" "corvette" and many different ranges such as 0-90, 40-180 etc. As you scroll through them you gas gauge will change with each one, the one that worked for me was 0-40 ohm seems low but oh well its registering a full tank now and we will see tomorrow what happens.

Thanks for all the help and I hope this helps someone else in the future.
tregrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2024, 07:59 PM   #13
SeventyOne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 1,372
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

Just want to make sure - your holley in-tank fuel pump ALSO has a fuel float sender?

I have a holley in-tank fuel pump as well, but it's just a pump, no fuel float sender and I use the stock fuel float sender to send an ohm reading to my dakota gauge. Stock is 0-90 range.
SeventyOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2024, 07:04 AM   #14
tregrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: castle rock CO
Posts: 23
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

hmm, I dont recall any other wires going to the tank. I will have to investigate further and see. I topped it off yesterday and got the gauge to read "full".
I just got done surfing the holly site and it appears my pump is just a pump, the Holly's that incorporate the sending unit have at least 4 wires going in to it https://www.holley.com/products/fuel...in-tank_pumps/
Mine is a 6 bolt pattern with only two wires so there must be a separate sending unit like what you have in your setup.
tregrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2024, 12:12 PM   #15
SeventyOne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 1,372
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

What Holley Pump do you have? a few of those at the link do have a sending unit.
SeventyOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2024, 04:28 PM   #16
tregrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: castle rock CO
Posts: 23
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

Yup, there is a seperate sending unit but its under the bed with no door for it. Im going to have to chase the wires down. When i changed the DD setting to show a full tank it hasnt gone down at all LOL.

The Holley's that have a sending unit have a minimum of 4 wires going into it and mine only has 2 so it doesnt have the sending unit
tregrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2024, 04:33 PM   #17
tregrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: castle rock CO
Posts: 23
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeventyOne View Post
Just want to make sure - your holley in-tank fuel pump ALSO has a fuel float sender?

I have a holley in-tank fuel pump as well, but it's just a pump, no fuel float sender and I use the stock fuel float sender to send an ohm reading to my dakota gauge. Stock is 0-90 range.
I definitely dont have a stock tank so im sure teh sending unit isnt stock. I will get my multi meter on the wires and see what ohm reading i get back because its still pretty full.
tregrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2024, 01:57 PM   #18
tregrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: castle rock CO
Posts: 23
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

ok, both the sending unit and the pump are grounded to the tank and then that ground goes to the engine compartment where it is plugged into a wire housing, block or what ever its called. the pump wire has three splices in it and then it runs up to the wire "housing" in the engine compartment, through the fire wall and into another wire "housing" then the fuse box is on top of that.
I think i read somewhere that the ground should be on the frame and not the tank itself
tregrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2024, 03:00 PM   #19
SeventyOne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 1,372
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

i might need to see some pics
SeventyOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2024, 09:22 AM   #20
hemi43
Registered User
 
hemi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,500
Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeventyOne View Post
i might need to see some pics
I'm waiting for the movie to come out.
hemi43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2024, 01:46 PM   #21
1970cstblazer
All stock and staying that way
 
1970cstblazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Elkland, PA
Posts: 1,348
Lightbulb Re: Dakota Digital gas gauge

Originally, the tank unit ground wire was on the sending unit and terminated at a bolt on the rear frame crossmember.
__________________
1970 K/5 Blazer CST 4WD, Bronze, 93k ACT. miles, 350, 4 speed, positraction, 16.5" x 8.25" wheel option, tilt, tach, vacuum, AM/FM, manual throttle...Dad ordered and purchased new 4/70. Currently frame off restoration in progress...

1972 Cheyenne Super 20 2WD, DK Blue/White, 90K ACT. miles, 402, TH400, 4.10 open, tilt, tach, vacuum, A/C, AM/FM, manual throttle.. A mostly original paint never rusted Texas survivor...

2017 Sierra 1500 SLT 4WD, Black, 41k miles, 5.3, 6L80E, 3.42 LS, 20" polished wheels, everything but moonroof and 6.2...

2019 Canyon SLT 4WD, White, 60k miles, 3.6, 8L45, 3.23 LS, 18" wheels
1970cstblazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2022 67-72chevytrucks.com