The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Tools, Shops and Shop Safety

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-14-2006, 10:53 PM   #1
JayG
Formerly ADHDCARGUY

air tool help, please

I'm wanting to purchase an air cut-off tool (3 or 4") that will actually work well.
Last weekend, I bought a cheap one and also a supposedly better grade of Northern Tool. After hacking around for an hour this evening trying to shape a new rear frame crossmember for my '67 (trimming some 2x4x1/8 tubing), I'm not pleased. I don't mind paying for good tools, but I do want them to work well.
I will be purchasing a port-a-band soon(I'm saving as fast as I can), however I still need something for cutoff and shaping. Any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated. If this post is in the wrong place, sorry, it's my first time to start a thread. I am using very good .035 cut-off wheels that I'm very happy with!
Thanks!

67CHEVY SWB,355, built 700r, 5/7,9",posi 3.50,REAR BAGS,HOOSIERS, A/C.
54CHEVY - BURB, beginning construction(well, i gotta take it apart first!)
36FORD PU - WAITING
38CHEVY - 2DR SD,CHASSIS FINISHED
46CHEVY - BURB - waiting
JayG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 10:58 PM   #2
Brainchild
Still drivin' a Rat Rod

Re: air tool help, please

That is a good question.I have several cutoff wheels on grinders,and a cutoff tool,they all seem to be very slow in doing the job.Chopsaw is good for straight cuts.

What kind of cutoff wheel do they use on American Chopper,I can't find anything that works like that one appears to work on the show.Prolly time lapse trick photography is my guess.
Rusty Member #13872
Instead of saying.....you are a discomfort in the back of my front.....one should be able to say...... you are a pain in the *a$#*

71 GMC LWB
49 Chevy
85 Chevy G20

Check out my website