The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 04-27-2024, 06:10 PM   #1
willem445

Quadrajet 350SBC Tuning Advice

Hi all,

This is my first time really digging into carb tuning and looking for advice.

Engine:

Engine is a 350 SBC in a 1980 Chevy K20. Don't really know the details on engine. Dad said that a local guy in town installed an RV cam many years ago. It appears whoever did the cam, must have swapped some parts because EGR, EFE, etc. don't exist at all.

When I took over truck, I have installed headers, redone vacuum lines, had carb rebuilt (~ 8 years ago), new open air cleaner, Bosch Double Iridium spark plugs (bosch 9659), wires (duralast). Currently just have bolt on glasspacks but will switch to full exhuast w/ Borla Pro XS soon.

I recently cleaned up some vacuum lines so this is the current diagram:

I found a post I had from 9 years ago where I measured compression, not positive I did it right but here are the numbers (yes the firing order is labeled wrong):

Exhaust does not smoke at all. Usually smells rich.

Transmission is SM465 3 speed manual for reference.

Problem:

To start engine I usually have to pump gas a number of times, turn over for 30s, stop, pump some more, and then it will fire. Usually need to rev to 1500 rpm for a minute or two to get it to idle without dying. Engine runs & sounds great at idle once warmed up.

I recently pulled a trailer loaded with skidsteer and really noticed that I lacked power on the highway. Going up a small hill for example, I would have foot to the floor and truck still struggled. Truck sounded like it was hesitating and bogging.