The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Racing and high performance (trucks haulin more than hay)

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-28-2014, 05:15 PM   #1
tiddlar

what you guys think about banks twin turbo system?

Been really researching this, thinking I'm going to go this route. I have a 1953 chevy truck. I'm waiting on a buddy to have time and space for me for a chassis job. I'm going with 29x18x20 tires in the rear, tube chassis. what I'm going for is a healthy street able engine, high horse power high torque. mostly a grocery getter and when a rice burner pulls next to me...... well you know... i was thinking a dart block, stroke it, afr heads etc. I'm no mechanic what so ever so don't know numbers. another buddy of mine will be building it he's extremely knowledgeable but also very busy.... I've seen this kit go for 5000. anyways what you guys think? Or should i just big block it?
tiddlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 06:50 AM   #2
PGSigns

Re: what you guys think about banks twin turbo system?

As with any high power build the price goes up fast. Anything from Banks will be first class. Don't be shocked if the entire engine build goes past 20K to get it running. Then you have to deal with trans and rear end, and a custom cooling system. Not sure what your budget is and why you need a 1000 hp to bust a rice burner. An LS3 from GM would bustem wide open and do a much better job of getting the snacks from the store.
Jimmy
1966 BBW long fleet Daily driver
1965 BBW short fleet Sold and going to a good home
1965 Suburban
2003 3500 Duramax
2005 Ultra Classic
PGSigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 11:45 AM   #3
tiddlar

Quote:
Originally Posted by PGSigns View Post